Monday, September 15, 2008

Our Lady of Sorrows

The Seven Sorrows (or Dolors) are events in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary which are a popular devotion and are frequently depicted in art.

1. The Prophecy of Simeon over the Infant Jesus.(Luke 2:34)
2. The Flight into Egypt of the Holy Family. (Matthew 2:13)
3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for Three Days. (Luke 2:43)
4. The Meeting of Jesus and Mary along the Way of the Cross. (Luke 23:26)
5. The Crucifixion where Mary stands at the foot of the cross. (John 19:25)
6. The Descent from the Cross where Mary receives the dead body of Jesus in her arms. (Matthew 27:57)
7. The Burial of Jesus. (John 19:40)

Servite Chaplet is form of the rosary dedicated to the Seven Sorrows of Mary. It is also known as the Seven Dolors Rosary or the Seven Swords Rosary referring to the prophesy of Simeon, "Behold this child is set for the fall, and for the resurrection of many in Israel, and for a sign which shall be contradicted; and thy own soul a sword shall pierce, that, out of many hearts, thoughts may be revealed." - (Lk.2:34-35)

It is much like a regular rosary but has seven sets of seven beads (weeks) Hail Marys instead of five sets of ten beads (decades). In praying the Dolours Rosary or Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows, one meditates on the seven sorrows in place of the Rosary meditations.

It is also common to pray seven Hail Mary's for each. The prayer "Sorrowful and Immaculate Heart of Mary pray for us" is used as well. Pope Benedict XIII, September 26th, 1724, and Pope Clement XII, December 12th, 1734, granted indulgences to those Christians who would be truly repentant, seek reconciliation within the Church, and pray this Chaplet on certain days. Devotion to Mary's Sorrows, was once said in an apparition of Christ, can be used as a last resort for salvation.

Each of the Seven Sorrows is announced followed by the Our Father and seven Hail Mary's. Three Hail Marys are added in remembrance of the tears Mary shed because of the suffering of her Divine Son.

V. Pray for us, O most sorrowful Virgin. R. The we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Concluding Prayer
Lord Jesus, we now implore, both for the present and for the hour of our death, the intercession of the most Blessed Virgin Mary, Thy Mother, whose holy soul was pierced at the time of Thy passion by a sword of grief. Grant us this favor, O Saviour of the world, Who liveth and reigneth with the Father and the Holy Ghost, forever and ever. Amen.

The Seven Sorrows Rosary on You Tube.


Moody said...

That's really interesting. I've often wondered about rosaries, and now I know a little bit! As mothers, we can only guess the suffering of Mary over Jesus.

momto5minnies said...

Thanks for teaching me something new. I have never heard of the Servite Chaplet.

Always learning ...